NACA Awards - Outstanding Diversity Achievement Award - Individual

The Outstanding Diversity Achievement Award-Individual was established to recognize individuals at NACA® member institutions that positively contribute to the development of programs and services promoting cultural diversity, understanding and/or awareness. These programs could be based at member institutions or within NACA.

Current full-time professional staff member at an NACA® member institution. Individuals can be nominated by others or can nominate themselves.

CRITERIA: This award will be presented to up to two individuals annually. Successful candidates would demonstrate at least two of the following diversity goals:

  • Foster meaningful relationships between diverse student populations
  • Challenge stereotypical perceptions of diverse populations
  • Help students learn to communicate effectively with people of varied backgrounds
  • Generate awareness and appreciation of diverse cultures

Additionally, the following criteria will also be considered for each candidate:

  • Must have a record for enhancing awareness and understanding of diverse cultures among the general campus community or NACA® community
  • Demonstrated quality and originality of programs and services developed and/or implemented
  • Success in contributions and service to diverse populations

To nominate an individual, please complete the nomination form and include the following as attachments:

  • a description of how the individual meets the goals and criteria listed above
  • a letter of recommendation from the candidate’s supervisor
  • two letters of recommendation from fellow colleagues/peers in the field

Recent Winners of the Outstanding Diversity Achievement Award-Individual

  • 2021 - Dasha Harris, Miami University (OH)
  • 2021 - Nicole Ausmer, University of Cincinnati 
  • 2020 - Brittani Hunt, High Point University (NC)
  • 2020 - Travis Tucker, Washington University in St. Louis (MO)
  • 2019 - Latoya Muhammad, Missouri Western State University
  • 2019 - Anna Metzger, Southern New Hampshire University
  • 2018 - Monique Gore, Gettysburg College (PA)
  • 2016 – Amber White, Fort Hays State University (OH)
  • 2013 – Lucy Croft, University of North Florida
  • 2012 – Lyndon Pryor, Texas A&M University
  • 2011 – Gregory Clement, Mount Wachusett Community College (MA)
  • 2010 – Reetha Perananamgam, Heidelberg University (OH)
  • 2009 – Heidi Scheusner Leming, Austin Peay State University (TN)

Nomination Deadline: October 15

Nomination Form

Share This Page