Board of Directors

NACA is led by a board of directors made up of nine volunteers of current school member institutions. They exist to serve the membership of the Association. The board works together as a team to strategize, plan, and oversee NACA's future health and viability. The board consist of three officers – chair, chair-elect, and immediate past chair, who also serves as Treasurer, and six directors.

Board members are the Association leaders who guide the organization towards a vibrant and sustainable future by adopting and adhering to sound, ethical, and legal governance and financial management policies. Board members are responsible for making sure the Association has adequate resources to advance its mission. 

The board of directors has three primary legal duties known as the "duty of care," "duty of loyalty," and "duty of obedience."

  1. Duty of Care: take care of the Association by ensuring prudent use of all assets, including facility, people, and good will;
  2. Duty of Loyalty: ensure that NACA's activities and transactions are, first and foremost, advancing our mission; Recognize and disclose conflicts of interest; Make decisions that are in the best interest of the Association not in the best interest of the individual board member (or any other individual or entity).
  3. Duty of Obedience: ensure that the Association obeys applicable laws and regulations; follows its own bylaws; and that NACA adheres to our stated mission. 

However, a board of directors does not exist solely to fulfill legal duties and serve as a fiduciary of the Association's assets. Board members also play very significant roles providing guidance to NACA by contributing to the organization's culture, strategic focus, effectiveness, and financial sustainability, as well as serving as ambassadors and advocates. The board does not supervise the staff, nor does the board plan or execute the operational activities of the Association.

If you are interested in serving on the board, please connect with a current board member to learn more about the board's competencies, responsibilities and election process.

List of Board Chairs

2024 - Courtney James
2023 - Shelly Mumma
2022 - Kendrick Durham
2021 - Joshua Brandfon
2020 - Ebony M. Ramsey
2019 - Becky Riopel
2018 - Demetria B. Anderson
2017 - Lucy Croft
2016 - Dan Fergueson
2015 - Brian Gardner
2014 - Ken Brill
2013 - Matthew Morrin
2012 - David DeAngelis
2011 - Brian M. Wooten
2010 - Ahmed Samaha
2009 - Steve Ransom
2008 - Regina Young Hyatt
2007 - Jon Dooley
2006 - Greg Diekroeger

2005 - Ernie Stufflebean
2004 - Justin Lawhead
2003 - Steve Westbrook
2002 - Gayle Spencer
2001 - Billye M. Potts
2000 - Chris Geiger
1999 - Susette Redwine
1998 - William D. Smedick
1997 - Paul E. Shrode
1996 - Laura Puckett-Boler
1995 - Myra Morgan
1994 - Linda Picklesimer
1993 - beth triplett
1992 - Mark Constantine
1991 - Kenneth M. Bedini
1990 - Gail DiSabatino
1989 - Ann Hale
1988 - Raymon Parker

1987 - Caryl M. Stern
1986 - Duane Anderson
1985 - Jimmy L. Fergueson
1984 - Max V. Vest
1983 - Sara Boatman
1982 - Larry Payton
1981 - Dennis Pruitt
1980 - Donald Z. Scheiber
1979 - Ronald R. Feldstein
1978 - Patsy Morley
1977 - MaryJo Mertens
1975 - Thomas E. Matthews
1974 - William E. Brattain
1972 - Robert McCurdy
1972 - Bob Busch
1971 - Don McCullough
1970 - Lawrence Heller
1968 - Frank Harris